Whole eggs, broken hearts

“Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day” is a children’s classic written by Judith Viorst that takes you through an awful day in the life of a young boy, Alexander.   Everything seems to go wrong and nothing goes his way.

For me, this day came earlier in the week.  I woke up to find the remains of our three beloved chickens, eaten by coyotes during the night, followed quickly by a child with a fever pushing 103 degrees, a trip to Urgent Care, a trip to the doctor’s office, stops at three different pharmacies to find the necessary medicine, oh and there was no coffee left.

And I had a public display of teary emotion after I found out the cost of my sick child’s medicine was totaling close to the cost of a car payment.

And we’re currently in the early, soggy stages of potty training.

And….well, it was just a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. 

What do you do with a day like that?—especially when you’ve got little ones watching your every move and analyzing your reaction to each brutal setback.  I’d like to say that I kept my composure and let my inner, peaceful chi take over, but that didn’t happen.

I cried…first over chickens (It sounds crazy, I know).  It’s bad enough that we lost three of our pets all at once, but to have it happen in such a brutal and horrific way only magnifies the pain.

Then I cried over sickness and how it tortures your loved ones and drains your precious energy and the money you work so hard for.

And then I think I just cried because, well, the day sucked, to put it bluntly.  It took its toll on everyone, especially my son.  He was the sick, tired one who just lost his pets in a way that he can’t even comprehend.

When I started this blog, my goal was to “go on an adventure to laugh through the good, the BAD, and all the crazy in between.”  Well, this certainly was more bad than good, I’d say.  How do you laugh and find joy in a day like that?

When my two-year-old said, “The chickens are in heaven,” I suddenly found the joy.  When my four-year-old with the flu said, “I hope they don’t poop on us,” there was the laughter.

How are kids SO amazing?  How do they do it?  Their ability to radiate light in the dark face of defeat and illness is nothing short of inspiring.

These simple moments of joy and laughter may not have taken our sadness away, but recognizing and acknowledging their existence sure helps us move in the right direction.

Today all that remains of that terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day are a few drifting feathers, three little eggs, and two incredibly brave children.

the last eggs

2 thoughts on “Whole eggs, broken hearts

  1. Great post. I’m so sorry for your loss- I can’t even imagine how hard that must have been. Hoping your little guy feels better soon. You definitely know how to take a horrible event and find the light within the darkness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

